New Zealand Shareholders’ Association announces winner of 2023 Beacon Award

Date Released:  May 3rd 2024

Tap/Click here to download pdf version

The New Zealand Shareholders’ Association congratulates Abby Foote as the winner of the 2023 NZSA ‘Beacon’ Award, announced at an Awards ceremony held at the NZX Centre in Auckland yesterday evening.

The Beacon Award is an annual recognition honouring one individual or team in the New Zealand business community who demonstrates leadership, bravery and respect while championing equitable outcomes, outstanding governance, and respecting the rights of all shareholders.

The NZSA has chosen to recognise Abby Foote for two specific issues arising during 2023, relating to the stance she adopted in relation director independence at Sanford Limited and her strategic review at Christchurch City Holdings Limited (CCHL) that would have resulted in improved returns for Christchurch City Council while allowing access to more effective capital funding for the key assets owned by CCHL.

“These actions align with critical themes for New Zealand investors” says NZSA Chair, Andrew Reding. “Director independence is a key factor in ensuring effective protection for minority shareholders, while encouraging differing approaches to infrastructural asset ownership is a key factor in allowing infrastructure owners to more easily access required capital to optimise returns.”

Abby Foote demonstrated courage in standing up for her convictions and reflecting those to stakeholders. The NZSA Beacon Award reflects this courage. Regardless of outcome, the ability to challenge others plays a key role in leadership and allows diverse perspectives to be considered in decision-making.

Last year, the NZSA recognised Mark Verbiest with the Beacon Award for his ongoing work to improve governance quality and culture, with long-term benefits for shareholder returns.

For more information please contact Oliver Mander at or on 021 190-5343.

About Abby Foote

Abby is a full-time professional director. She has over 15 years’ governance experience as a independent director, having served on both listed and Crown companies. With qualifications in both law and accounting, Abby’s executive career encompassed both disciplines, focusing on strategy, corporate finance and large-scale commercial transactions. As an experienced director Abby has a particular interest in risk management and ESG issues and is committed to strong and effective corporate governance.

Abby is currently the chair of Christchurch City Holdings and a director of KMD Brands Limited (previously known as Kathmandu Holdings) and Freightways Limited. She is also a member of the Steering Committee of Chapter Zero New Zealand. Previous roles include Chair of Z Energy Limited and as a director of TVNZ; Transpower; Museum of New Zealand, Te Papa Tongarewa; Livestock Improvement Corporation (LIC); Sanford and the Local Government Funding Agency (LGFA).



Tags: , , ,

One Response

  1. […] Read more on the New Zealand Shareholders Association website here. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *