Record entries for the 2023 edition of the NZSA Business Journalism Awards

Date Released:  November 21st 2023

Tap/Click here to download pdf version

Nicholas Pointon, of NBR, was chosen as the 2023 Business Journalist of the year from a record number of entries in the 2023 NZSA Business Journalism Awards.

Proudly hosted by the New Zealand Shareholders’ Association (NZSA) and generously supported by Simplicity and NZX Limited, the awards showcase the best of New Zealand Business Journalism. Prizes were awarded in three categories, with additional awards for the Emerging Business Journalist of the Year (Ella Somers, BusinessDesk) and the overall New Zealand Business Journalist of the Year (Nicholas Pointon, NBR).

NZSA singled out the importance of breadth of coverage when it came to business-related journalism, with an ability to reach the diverse community of individual investors.

NZSA CEO, Oliver Mander, noted that “New Zealand investment markets have a vested interest in ensuring that business journalism becomes relevant to the millions of KiwiSaver investors and hundreds of thousands of Sharesies investors across the country.”

2023 is the sixth edition of the NZ Business Journalism Awards hosted by NZSA, with the Association itself no stranger to improving transparency for investors.

“We need a strong business media as part of a business ecosystem that creates transparency and holds leaders to account” says Mander.


Finalists and Winners

Business News


Business Commentary


Business Features


Young Business Journalist:

Ella Somers, BusinessDesk


Business Journalist of the Year Award
Nicholas Pointon, National Business Review



Three independent judges, Dr. James Hollings, Gyles Beckford and Jenni McManus, volunteered their journalism and business expertise to read and evaluate nearly 100 entries – a record for the NZSA Business Journalism Awards.


Dr. James Hollings

Dr James Hollings researches and teaches journalism across Massey University’s four campuses. His current role is Discipline Leader, Journalism. Drawing on 18 years as a full-time professional journalist, his main research interests are around journalism practice, especially investigative journalism, with a special interest in journalism psychology.

He is also on the board or involved in governance of various journalism-related bodies, such as the NZ Centre for Investigative Journalism, and has advised on journalism-related issues to various corporate and government bodies, such as the NZ Law Commission.

His teaches the Master of Journalism course and an undergraduate course in Investigative Journalism. Having produced two film documentaries, he also has a specialty in long-form non-fiction content.


Gyles Beckford

Gyles has been a journalist for more than 35 years, including stints with provincial newspapers, a ministerial press secretary, a long stint as local bureau chief for Reuters news agency. He has over 20 years reporting on everything business, investment, economics and commerce.

He has worked with Radio New Zealand, presented on Morning Report, participated in the RNZ-Newsroom “Two Cents Worth” podcast, and sis member of the combined RNZ-TVNZ unit that reported on the Panama Papers.


Jenni McManus

Jenni has nearly 40 years’ experience as a financial journalist, editor and newspaper owner. In 1991, she and the late Warren Berryman founded The Independent Business Weekly, an award-winning publication with a strong focus on investigative journalism. She is a winner of more than 21 journalism awards, including the Citibank award and Senior Reporter of the Year at the 1997 Qantas awards. She has ghost-written two books, In the Arena (with Diane Foreman) and A Woman’s Place (with Joan Withers) and taught the ATI journalism course from 1983-1986. She is currently the editor of LawNews, a weekly magazine published by the Auckland District Law Society, and does some freelance work.



Event photos will be available soon on NZSA’s website. An initial selection of images is available at this link.


Looking ahead to 2024

The 2024 Business Journalism Awards will be back in full force in November 2024. Entries are expected to close in early October 2024.



Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *