New Zealand Shareholders' Association Journalism Awards


 The NZ Shareholders Association (NZSA) is pleased to announce that submissions can now be made for the NZ Business Journalism Awards, proudly supported by Simplicity.  The Awards fulfil a key role in NZSA’s calendar.  There is a strong, values-driven alignment between the role of the media, its journalists and NZSA in advocating for shareholders and promoting transparency of corporate practices.

Please make your submission by Friday, September 17th, 5:00pm via the online form.  For questions or clarifications, please contact  Full entry terms and conditions are shown at this link.

The Awards will be announced at an evening function at the Northern Club, Auckland on October 7th 2021.  Any postponement due to Covid-19 restrictions will be advertised at a later date.

NZSA will be awarding prizes in three categories:

  • Business News
  • Business Commentary
  • Business Features

An Award will also be made for the Young Business Journalist of the Year and the overall Business Journalist of the Year.

Category winners will receive a $2,500 prize, with a further $2,000 for the Business Journalist of the Year, to be awarded to one of the category winners.

The Young Business Journalist Award does not need to be a category winner, but will be awarded to an emerging journalist who has been in the profession for less than 3 years and has made a quality entry to one of the three categories.


Judging will be carried out by three independent judges, who are well known amongst both business journalism and financial stakeholders.  NZSA itself, nor its sponsors and supporters, play any role in judging.

Gyles Beckford

Mary Holm, ONZM

Louise Nicholson


Business Editor, Radio New Zealand

Author and Personal Finance Commentator

Director of External Communications and Investor Capability, Financial Markets Authority


Entry Details

Please click here for a full description of submission requirements and further details.


Finalists for the 2020 Business Journalism Awards were:


Maria Slade. (NBR) “Covid-19 pay-dirt for banks” (WINNER)
Brent Melville (BusinessDesk) “The zombie company of Mataura Valley”

Tim Hunter (NBR) “Oil company owes millions ‘all over Taranaki"


Nikki Mandow (Newsroom) Banking series (WINNER) Article 1, Article 2, Article 3
Pattrick Smellie (BusinessDesk) “Todd flounders to victory in Flinders Mines saga”

Tim Hunter (NBR) “The ‘tragedy’ of Tiwai’s toxic waste”

Rod Oram (Newsroom) “How the global aluminium market killed Tiwai Point

 Gavin Evans (BusinessDesk) “Southland jobs sacrificed to confused energy policy”

 Calida Stuart-Menteath (NBR) Three “Shoeshine” columns
Liam Dann (NZ Herald) Three Covid-19 columns


Maria Slade NBR (back left) & Nikki Mandow Newsroom (back right) with

Rod Oram Newsroom (front left) and Oliver Mander NZSA (front right).

2019 Business Journalism Awards Winners

2018 Business Journalism Award Winners